Past Film Links

Title ReleasedFilmmaker/Director Run TimeWebsite

A New Color: The Art of Being Edythe Boone

2017Marlene “Mo” Morris 57″http://anewcolordocumentary.com/
Accidental Hero: Room 408 2001Terri DeBono, Steve Rosen56″www.pbs.org/accidentalhero
Aging Out 2003Roger Weisberg, Maria Finitzo90″ 
Alive Inside 2014Michael Rossato-Bennett78″ 
American Love Story 1999Bob Morris 600″ 
American Promise 2013Joe Brewster, Michele Stephenson135″www.americanpromise.org
Americanos: Latino Life in the U.S.2000Susan Todd, Andrew Young80″www.olmosperfect.com/americanos-latino-life-in-the-us.html
And Then They Came for Us2017Abby Ginzberg 40″www.thentheycamedoc.com
Anyone and Everyone 2007Susan Polis Schutz 57″www.anyoneandeveryone.com
Ask Not 2008Johnny Symons 73″asknotfilm.com
At the River I Stand 1993David Appleby, Allison Graham, Steven J. Ross56″ 
Audrie and Daisy 2016Bonni Cohen, John Shenk98″http://www.audrieanddaisy.com/
Autumn’s Eyes 2006Paola Mendoza, Gabriel Noble59″ 
Banished 2006Marco Williams 84″ 
Beauty Before Age 1997Johnny Symons 22″ 
Blindsight 2006Sybil Robson Orr 104″www.blindsightthemovie.com
Blink 2000Elizabeth Thomson 60″www.pbs.org/pov/blink
Boys of Baraka 2005Heidi Ewing, Rachel Grady84″www.pbs.org/pov/boysofbaraka
Boys will be Men 2001Tom Weidlinger 57″www.boyswillbemen.com
Brazil in Black and White 2007Adam Stepan 58″ 
Breathing Lessons 1996Jessica Yu 35″ 
Brother Outsider 2003Nancy Kates, Bennett Singer84″www.pbs.org/pov/brotheroutsider
Brothers and Others: The Impact of Sept. 11 on Arabs, Muslims and South Asians in America2003Nicolas Rossier 54″ 
Cats of Mirikitani 2006Linda Hattendorf 74″www.thecatsofmirikitani.com
Chicks in White Satin 1993Elaine Holliman 20″ 
Code: Debugging the Gender Gap2015Robin Hauser 80″www.docedoc.co
Companeras 2007Matthew Buzzell, Elizabeth Massie60″ 
Cruz Reynoso: Sowing the Seeds of Justice2010Abby Ginzberg 58″www.reynosafilm.com
Daddy and Papa 2002Johnny Symons 60″www.daddyandpapa.com
Death of a Shaman 2004Richard Hall, Fahm Fong Saeyang57″www.pbs.org/independentlens/deathofashaman
Death on a Friendly Border 2001Rachel Antell 26″ 
Disability Culture Rap 2010Cheryl Marie Wade 22″ 
Dying to be Thin 2000Larkin McPhee 60″www.pbs.org/wgbh/body/dying-to-be-thin.html
The Education of Shelby Knox2005Marion Lipschutz, Rose Rosenblatt76″www.pbs.org/pov/shelbyknox/
Family Name 1997Macky Alston 89″www.pbs.org/pov/familyname/
Far from Home 2005Rachel Tsutsumi 40″ 
Fear and Learning at Hoover Elementary1997Laura Angelica Simon50″www.pbs.org/pov/fearandlearning/
First Person Plural 2000Deann Borshay Liem57″www.pbs.org/pov/firstpersonplural/
Follow Me Home 1996Peter Bratt 100″ 
Free 2014Suzanne LaFreta, David Collier86″www.freethedocumentary.com
Girls Like Us 1997Jan Wagner, Tina DiFeliciantonio56″www.pbs.org/pov/girlslikeus/
Girl Trouble 2006Lexi Leban, Lidia Szajko57″www.pbs.org/independentlens/girltrouble/film.html
Hip Hop: Beyond Beats and Rhymes2006Byron Hurt 61″www.pbs.org/independentlens/hiphop
Homeless in Paradise 2005Marilyn Braverman 50″homelessinparadise.net/index.html
The Homestretch 2014Anne De Mare, Kirsten Kelly90″http://www.homestretchdoc.com/
The Hunting Ground 2015Amy Ziering, Kirby Dick103″http://thehuntinggroundfilm.com/
The House I Live In 2012Eugene Jarecki 108″http://www.thehouseilivein.org/
Immigration Calculations    30″ 
Inequality for All 2013Jacob Kornbluth 89″inequalityforall.com
The Invisible War 2012Kirby Dick 93″www.theinvisiblewarmovie.com
Islam vs. Islamists: Voices from the Muslim Center2007Martin Burke 50″tarekfatah.com/islam-vs-islamists/
Kiss My Wheels 2003Miguel Grunstein 57″itvs.org/films/kiss-my-wheels
Linsanity 2014Evan Jackson Leong88″www.linsanitythemovie.com
Lives Worth Living 2011Eric Neudel 60″www.pbs.org/independentlens/content/lives-worth-living
Long Night’s Journey into Day2000Deborah Hoffmann, Frances Reid94″www.irisfilms.org/films/long-nights-journey-into-day
Lost Boys of Sudan 2003Megan Mylan, Jon Shenk87″lostboysfilm.com
Louder than a Bomb 2010Greg Jacobs, Jon Siskel99″www.louderthanabombfilm.com
Loving Story, The 2012Nancy Buirski 60″lovingfilm.com
Mad Hot Ballroom 2005Marilyn Agrelo 105″ 
Made in LA 2007Almudena Carracedo, Robert Bahar70″madeinla.com
Mai’s America 2002Marlo Poras 72″www.pbs.org/pov/maisamerica
The Mask You Live In 2015Jennifer Siebel Newsom97″http://therepresentationproject.org/film/the-mask-you-live-in/
Mind Game: The Unquiet Journey of Chamique Holdsclaw2015Rick Goldsmith 56″www.facebook.com/MindGameFilm
Misunderstood Minds 2002WGBH Interactive for PBS90″www.facebook.com/MindGameFilm
Off and Running 2009Nicole Opper 76″www.pbs.org/pov/offandrunning
Out in America 2011Andrew Goldberg 80″ 
Paths of the Displaced 2009Natalia Ledford   
The Personals: Improvisations on Romance in the Golden Years1998Keiko Ibi 37″ 
Poor Kids 2012Jezza Neumann 59″https://topdocumentaryfilms.com/poor-kids/
Promises 2001B.Z. Goldberg, Justine Shapiro106″https://topdocumentaryfilms.com/promises/
Race: The Power of an Illusion (3 episodes)2003Christine Herbes-Sommers60″ eachwww.pbs.org/race
Race to Execution 2007Rachel Lyon, Jim Lopes57″www.racetoexecution.com
Rabbit in the Moom 1999Emiko Omori 85″www.pbs.org/rabbitinthemoon
Raising Teens 2005Samantha Counter 57″ 
Raymond’s Portrait 1997Donald Young 30″www.fanlight.com/catalog/films/267_rp.php
Room to Breathe 2013Russell Long 76″http://www.roomtobreathefilm.com/
Runner’s High 2007Justine Jacob, Alex D. Da Silva87″www.runnershighfilm.com
Salaam Dunk 2011David Fine 78″salaamdunkfilm.com
Scout’s Honor 2001Tom Shepard 60″scoutshonormovie.com
Skin Deep 2010Franco di Chiera 53″www.irisfilms.org/films/skin-deep
Somewhere Between 2011Linda Goldstein 88″http://www.somewherebetweenmovie.com/
Soul of Justice: Thelton Henderson’s American Journey2005Abby Ginzberg 60″www.facebook.com/pg/TheltonHendersonFilm/about
Sound and Fury 2000Josh Aronson 90″soundandfuryfilm.com
Speaking in Tongues 2009Marcia Jamel, Ken Schneider56″speakingintonguesfilm.info
Stonewall Uprising 2010Kate Davis, David Heilbroner82″www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/films/stonewall/
Strange Fruit 2002Joel Katz 58″www.pbs.org/independentlens/strangefruit/film.html
Taking Root: The Vision of Wangari Maathai2009Lisa Merton, Alan Dater80″takingrootfilm.com
Thirty-nine Pounds of Love 2005Dani Menkin 70″www.israelfilmcenterstream.org/film/39-pounds-love
Three and Half Minutes, Ten Bullets2015Mare Silver 98″www.takepart.com/three-and-a-half-minutes-ten-bullets/index.html
Three to Infinity: Beyond Two Genders2015Lonny Shavelson 84″http://www.threetoinfinity.com/about/
Trevor 1994Peggy Rajski 23″www.thetrevorproject.org/pages/history
Twitch and Shout 1993Laurel Chiton 59″www.pbs.org/pov/twitchandshout
Unlikely Hero, An 2003Steve Okino 57″en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Yamashita
Unnatural Causes (7 episodes)2008California Newsreel for PBS – numerous filmmakers30″ eachwww.unnaturalcauses.org
Waging a Living 2005Roger Weisberg, Pamela Harris60″www.pbs.org/pov/wagingaliving
Waiting Room, The 2012Peter Nicks 81″www.whatruwaitingfor.com
Way Home, The  Shakti Butler 92″world-trust.org/the-way-home
Wet Dreams and False Images2004Jesse Epstein 12″ 
What do You Believe? 2004  60″ 
When Medicine got it Wrong2009Katie Cadigan, Laura Murray53″whenmedicine.org
Writ Writer 2008Susanne Mason 54″www.pbs.org/independentlens/writwriter
You don’t know Dick 1997Bestor Cram 75″ 
Zora Neale Hurston: Jump at the Sun2008Samuel D. Pollard 84″www.pbs.org/wnet/americanmasters/zora-neale-hurston-jump-at-the-sun